Understand the Subtle Bodies and Their Crucial Purpose

What are the subtle bodies energy bodies describes the purpose of each body and how they enable transcendence to higher levels of spirituality. Subtle bodies are invisible layers encasing our physical body which in turn, creates the human aura energy system. For more information, read on to find out how and why each energetic layer is essential for our existence.

First, Let’s Take a Guided Tour through the Subtle Bodies

Imagine you’re on an elevator with a tour guide. The tour begins on the bottom floor which is the Physical Body. The tour guide informs you that this is the densest of all the bodies and can be seen, felt, and touched.

Next, the elevator takes you up one floor to the place of the Subtle Body. After you learn about the Subtle Body from your guide, you then ascend to the Astral Body Floor.

Additionally, with each ascending floor, you’ll learn more about you, and how and why you’re able to function in this world.

Finally, at the end of the tour, you go home with a beautiful bouquet of flowers that contains vibrant new perceptions about your consciousness and true reality.

The Etheric Body:

Let’s explore the seven subtle bodies and why they’re an essential part of our being. Everything that exists on the physical plane has its own subtle body counterpart. Trained individuals see the Etheric Body which is the first subtle body.

Specifically, the Etheric Body is an exact template of our Physical Body. It holds the blueprints of our organs, muscles, tissues, and bones. As an interesting note, individuals who’ve lost a limb swear they can still feel the limb. Why? Because the limb remains intact in the Etheric template regardless of what destructive traumas happen to the Physical Body.

Also, an additionally primary function of the Etheric Body is that it holds a series of channels and our chakra centers which play a significant role in our vitality and well-being. Subsequently, this body generates our aura or primary energy field which surrounds us. The Etheric Body exists as matter in the lower to mid-level Etheric/Astral Plane.

The Astral/Emotional Body:

The next subtle body of importance is the Astral/Emotional Body. The Astral Body can separate from the Physical Body at will and does so often–especially during sleep. This body also contains our emotional memories and patterns. Since the Astral/Emotional body is the receptacle for our memories, it’s where we begin to process emotional responses to the events in our lives.

We all have astral bodies, as mentioned, which reflect our emotions, desires, and feelings. In terms of the aura, the Astral Body is known as the emotional aura. Significantly, the Astral Body exists as matter from the Astral Plane.

The Causal Body:

The Causal Body is the root of your soul. It’s the first level of your immortal self.

Importantly, the Causal Body is named such because it’s the originating source for the personality that incarnates in each lifetime. When your life ends, the essence of who and what you were, is then absorbed back into the Causal Body. Significantly, the Causal Body exists as matter from the Causal Plane.

At this point, I know you’ve absorbed a lot of information. Keep going to understand that the higher frequencies of subtle bodies are our gateway to bliss.

The Mental Body:

The Mental Body facilitates the process of acquiring knowledge and understanding through thought, and experience. It enables us to make judgments, evaluate situations, reasoning, problem-solving, decision making, comprehension and the forming of language. Therefore, the Mental Body is instrumental in making it possible for humans to discern, hold beliefs, and arrange thoughts in contextual order. Significantly, the Mental Body exists as matter from the Mental Plane.

Note: As a side note, it’s also believed that the Mental Body facilitates elevated psychic abilities.

The Spiritual/Soul Body

The Spiritual Body is considered the root of the soul. It’s the essence of the “divine spark.” Like the other bodies, it holds all the other energy bodies within its confines.

Many believe that the Spiritual Body holds the last remnant of individuality before merging back into the creative source. Ultimately, this powerhouse represents the point of contact between the human microcosm and the Supreme Being. In theological and spiritual terms; we call this Supreme Being God, the Divine, Father, Mother Goddess, The Creator, Source, or Source Field, etc. Significantly, the Spiritual/Soul Body exists as matter from the Spiritual/Soul Plane.

The Buddhic/Christic Body

Finally, we arrive at the Buddhic/Christic Body. Although you might assume this subtle body is named after The Buddha and The Christ (Jesus), it’s actually named for the level of consciousness these avatars* achieved during their sojourn on earth.

Ultimately, the Buddhic/Christic Body facilitates the expansion of consciousness beyond the separate personality and breaks free of individuality. Significantly,the Buddhic/Christic Body exists as matter from the Buddhic/Christic Plane.

The Buddhic/Christic level is the true source of happiness for the soul. Upon reaching this level, the soul experiences a perpetual state of bliss.

*Avatar refers to the physical appearance of a deity on earth. This concept originates from certain sects of Hinduism and means “descent.”

by Carol Nicholson, Ph.D., and Certified Psychic-Medium

Hi! I’m Carol Nicholson and I hope you enjoyed this post! I’m dedicated to providing helpful, valuable, and fascinating blogs on a wide range of spiritual and psychic arts topics. Don’t forget to subscribe so you won’t miss out on my most recent posts and announcements of new courses!


Complete Psychic-Clairvoyance Training from End to End!


Wouldn’t you love to become a brilliant Medium? You can, starting today!


Complete Mediumship & Psychic Training Combined!